Ironman Los Cabos | Block One Review

So I just started my Ironman Los Cabos training and going into it I wanted to chronicle my training adventures and mis-adventures but I also knew that realistically, a weekly update wasn’t going to happen. So I figure that a monthly (4-week block) review was realistic, worthwhile and wouldn’t bore anyone too much. So here it is, my first of about a half-dozen Ironman Los Cabos blog posts.

I think this first post includes two main topics:

1. Registration

2. The first four weeks.

Registration: 2013 began my 6th year in triathlons and until recently, I had no desire to race a full Ironman distance race.  As 2013 took shape, the “itch” got more intense and after a couple of months of discussing it with my wife, we finally came to an agreement that I could sign up for an Ironman event.  After several months the decision was made.  Factors that went into the decision to race Ironman Los Cabos included weather, timing, location, and venue.

The first Block: In mid-September I reached out to Joey Perez and after a few discussions, we agreed on a start point to begin training (24 weeks out).  The timing worked out real well in that I had two weeks “off” training and was able to enjoy the time leisurely resting before the next 24 weeks of fun began.

Weeks 1-4 is the first of three base building blocks, focused on building endurance and strength.  The final week included several tests including an FTP test and a 10k race.  The first week culminated with the Zombie Charge where I was a zombie with the Wolfpack.  Pretty fun afternoon, finished with a couple of beers together.

Block 1 Zombie Charge

After two more weeks I was off to Ironman Florida to volunteer and cheer on many friends who were racing.  I had the opportunity to get 80 miles in and while doing so, got a flat at mile 40 when Andrew Starykowicz past by.  He would continue on to take 2nd overall after a course record (and fastest American) 4:02 bike split during the race.  I also had the opportunity to volunteer at the Finish Line and give out medals.  I gave out medals to many friends and that was quite a special experience for me.

Block 1 IMFL with Nick

The final week culminated with several tests including an FTP test which I was able make yet another improvement to my FTP by another 9 watts!  It was a busy weekend with the Key Biscayne Lighthouse 10k on Saturday then the 115 mile Gran Fondo bike ride on Sunday.  This was by far the furthest distance I’d ever ridden and a big mental milestone in my Ironman training.

Block 1 Lighthouse Run Block 1 Gran Fondo

Stats:

Block Swim Time Bike Time Run Time Strength Time
1 13:10:00 24:51:00 13:58:00 2:46:00
Block  Swim Distance Bike Distance Run Distance
1 37,600 450.7 98.12

Training Block 1

Lessons Learned:

1. Just because its Ironman, doesn’t mean each workout has to suck.  It doesn’t mean I can’t have fun.

2. When looking (again) at IMLC’s elevation map, I started to freak out a little, mostly because we have NO hills in South Florida!  Then I decided: I can’t control the hills, but I can control how I ride them.  Then I got called into my director’s office and was told that I need to take 4 weeks of vacation before the end of the year.  A blessing in disguise perhaps – giving me the opportunity and time to get up to Claremont for some hill action.  To be scheduled.

2 thoughts on “Ironman Los Cabos | Block One Review

  1. Great to have finished your first block. I had a lot of fun training for IMFL but I love going zone 2/3 FOREVER. Get me in zone 4 and I die fast. So I hope you enjoy your training. Not that you need hill advice, but I had a 70.3 race with close to 5,000ft of climbing. I trained once in Claremont and the rest of the time on the computrainer. The one nice thing about hills is that they go up but then they go down, so really, it sucks only half the time 😉

Leave a comment